Changing the Tracking Dimension Group for a product in Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations

When attempting to change the Tracking Dimension Group for a Product in Dynamics 365 Operations (AX2012), you may receive the following notification:

“Delete the tracking dimension group for the product, and then delete the tracking dimension group for all released instances of the product.”

In the example below, while changing the tracking dimension group from DEFAULT to SERIAL for a product, this notification appeared:

To change the Tracking Dimension Group for Products in Dynamics Operations, you need to change settings on both on the product level and the released product level.  However, you need to delete the tracking dimension group at the product level prior to making changes to the corresponding released product.

The steps to complete the changes for a product are:

1. In Products, open Set Up and clear the Tracking Dimension Group field.  For Products, the system will not let you overwrite the tracking dimension group with a “blank” field name using an import.  It will create the same error you receive when manually trying to change the field.

2. In Released Products, open Set Up and set the Tracking Dimension Group field to the new group. You can also export your Released Products and import with the necessary changes. 

  • While the notification states that the tracking dimension group on the Released Product level needs to be deleted, you can just select the new tracking dimension group once the Product level tracking dimension group is deleted.
  • It also works to import the changes once the Product tracking dimension group is deleted.